The Beauts couldn’t get past Corinne Schroeder on Saturday night, falling 8-0 to the Pride at Warrior Ice Arena.

Lovisa Berndtsson started for the Beauts before she was replaced by Tera Hofmann midway through the third period. Schroeder made 19 stops for the shutout.

Jillian Dempsey scored a shorthanded goal to get the Pride on the board first, finishing off a breakaway chance from Allie Thunstrom seven minutes into the first frame. The Beauts killed off a pair of penalties but couldn’t pick up a power play goal of their own on two opportunities.

Seven minutes into the second frame, McKenna Brand tapped the puck past Berndtsson at the side of the net to make it 2-0 Pride. She notched her second goal of the night a few minutes later when she put away Boston’s second shorthanded goal of the evening, giving the home team a 3-0 lead going into the second intermission.

The floodgates opened in the third period. Three minutes into the final frame, Christina Putigna scored, and a minute later Allie Thunstrom put away her first goal of the night to make it 5-0 Pride. Thunstrom scored again two minutes later to put her on hat trick watch and prompted a goalie change from Buffalo. Samantha Fieseler took a major penalty with just over five minutes to go, and Boston scored twice on the power play to end the game, with Loren Gabel and Olivia Zafuto each lighting the lamp.

The Beauts will have a chance to get some redemption on Sunday afternoon. The puck will drop on the second game of the weekend at 2 p.m. EST.

About the Buffalo Beauts

The Buffalo Beauts are a professional women's ice hockey team based in Buffalo, New York and competing in the Premier Hockey Federation (formerly the National Women’s Hockey League). The Beauts are one of the Founding Four teams that stepped on the ice in 2015 and the 2017 Isobel Cup Champions. The team is owned and operated by NLTT Hockey Ventures. Visit to learn more.

About the Premier Hockey Federation (PHF)

The PHF is the leading home of professional women’s hockey in North America. Established in 2015 as the National Women’s Hockey League, the NWHL rebranded to become the PHF in 2021 and maintains the mission to provide strong role models and fuel the continued growth of the sport. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, Montreal Force and the Toronto Six who all compete annually for the Isobel Cup.