Beauts 2023 Team Awards To Be Presented at Final Regular Season Game

by Beauts Public Relations

BUFFALO – The Buffalo Beauts will be presenting their annual team awards at the conclusion of their final regular season game this weekend. The game will be played Sunday March 5, 2023 at 1pm EST versus the Connecticut Whale inside of the Northtown Center. Fans are encouraged to remain in the stands after the game has ended to cheer on the players as the awards are distributed. The Beauts players themselves have voted upon each of the five awards.

“The Beauts were the first team in the Premier Hockey Federation to do end-of-season team awards and it is something we are passionate about celebrating,” said Beauts GM Nate Oliver. “What is particularly special about these five awards is that the winners were voted by the Beauts players themselves. It is the ultimate level of respect when it is your own peers acknowledging you for your personal achievements.”

The individual honors being awarded are as follows:

  • 2023 Debra A. Cresanti Memorial Award: awarded to the Beauts player most actively involved in the Buffalo and Western New York communities. 2022’s recipient was current Beauts’ forward Amy Budde.
  • 2023 Buffalo Beauts "Row the Boat" Award: Awarded to the Beauts player who best embodies the qualities of being a good teammate and sportswomanship. 2022’s recipient was former Beauts goaltender Caty Flagg.
  • 2023 Buffalo Beauts Rookie of the Year Award: Awarded to the top rookie on our team. Only players in their first professional-level season are eligible for this award and must have played in at least six regular season games for the team. Eligible candidates in order by last name are Summer-Rae Dobson, Antonia Matzka, Courtney Maud, Madi Nichols, and Maddie Truax. 2022’s recipient was former Beaut and current Metropolitan Riveters forward Kennedy Ganser.
  • 2023 Buffalo Beauts Unsung Hero Award: Awarded to the player whose value to the team goes well beyond the level of public and/or statistical recognition that she has received. 2022’s recipient was current Beauts forward and alternate captain Cassidy MacPherson.
  • 2023 Buffalo Beauts Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award: Awarded to the Beauts player deemed most integral to the team's on-ice success by her individual performance. 2022’s recipient was former Beauts and current Toronto Six goalie Carly Jackson.

Each award will be presented to its recipient at ice-level.

About the Buffalo Beauts

The Buffalo Beauts are a professional women's ice hockey team based in Buffalo, New York and competing in the Premier Hockey Federation (formerly the National Women’s Hockey League). The Beauts are one of the Founding Four teams that stepped on the ice in 2015 and the 2017 Isobel Cup Champions. The team is owned and operated by NLTT Hockey Ventures. Visit to learn more.

About Premier Hockey Federation (PHF)

The PHF is the leading home of professional women’s hockey in North America. Established in 2015 as the National Women’s Hockey League, the NWHL rebranded to become the PHF in 2021 and maintains the mission to provide strong role models and fuel the continued growth of the sport. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the Toronto Six who all compete annually for the Isobel Cup.

Contact: For media information, please contact Nate Oliver: